The Hevesy Medal Award (as founded by Prof. Tibor Braun) is the premier international award of excellence honouring outstanding achievements in radioanalytical and nuclear chemistry. It is named after George (György) Hevesy (1885-1966) who received the Nobel Prize for Chemistry in 1943.

Hevesy Medal Award

The Hevesy Medal Award is given in recognition of excellence through outstanding, sustained career achievements in the fields of pure and applied nuclear and radiochemistry, particularly applications to nuclear analytical chemistry. It comprises an engraved bronze medal (in a presentation case) and an ornamental scroll, which are presented at a major international radiochemical conference occurring in the year of the award. The Hevesy Medal Award has no monetary value.

The Hevesy Medal was awarded almost annually during the period 1968-86 to nineteen distinguished individuals whose contributions had traced and defined the scope and depth of radioanalysis through the prolific postwar years of the nuclear era. Their achievements included pioneering work on radioactivation analysis methodology and applications, the development of radiochemical separation procedures and analytical schemes, radiotracer applications, analytical developments such as substoichiometric isotopic dilution analysis, automated systems and computerized systems, and widespread fields of application. After an interval of 14 years, the Award was reactivated in 2000. The International Committee on Activation Analysis of the Modern Trends in Activation Analysis Conferences (ICAA-MTAA) is currently responsible for administration of the award.

List of Hevesy Medallists (1968-2018)

1968: W. Weine MEINKE
1969: Albert A. SMALES
1970: Ivan Pavlovich ALIMARIN
1972: Philippe ALBERT and Julian HOSTE
1975: Tibor BRAUN and Juraj TÖLGYESSY
1976: Francesco GIRARDI
1977: Saadia AMIEL and Richard E. WAINERDI
1978: Robert E. JERVIS
1979: Vincent P. GUINN
1981: William S. LYON and Max PEISACH
1983: Edward V. SAYRE and Garman HARBOTTLE
1984: Georges AMSEL
1985: Nobuo SUZUKI
1986: Emile A. SCHWEIKERT
2000: Frans DE CORTE
2001: Amares CHATT and Eiliv STEINNES
2002: Enrico SABBIONI
2003: Jeroen J.M. DE GOEIJ
2004: Attila VÉRTES
2005: Zhifang CHAI, Gregory CHOPPIN and Nicholas M. SPYROU
2006: Jan KUCERA
2007: Robert R. GREENBERG
2008: Syed M. QAIM
2009: Richard M. LINDSTROM
2010: Darleane C. HOFFMAN
2011: Peter BODE
2012: Boris F. MYASOEDOV
2013: Rajmund S. DYBCZYŃSKI
2014: Heino NITSCHE
2015: Kattesh V.KATTI Susanta LAHIRI
2016: Tomoko M. NAKANISHI
2017: Pavel P. POVINEC
2018: Rolf ZEISLER